This feature allows users with sufficient role permission to correct mistakes made in documentation by editing the administration details of a PRN medication after they have been saved.
Prerequisites and Setup
Users must have one of the two following permissions enabled on their Application Role in order to use the feature:
1. Edit Administration Records
a. Users with this permission will be able to edit any PRN administration record after it has been saved, regardless of who originally created the record
2. Edit Own Administration Record Within Pass
a. Users with this permission will only be able to edit a PRN administration that they themselves created, and it can only be edited within the same pass as it was originally administered
Edit PRN Button
To edit a saved PRN administration, users will first open the Admin History window for the order, under MAR > MAR/TAR > Select Pass > Select Resident > Admin History
On the Admin History window, each PRN administration will have an Edit button in the Action column. Click the ‘Edit’ button to open the ‘Edit PRN Administration’ window
Note: For orders with both regular scheduled gives and PRN gives, only the PRN gives will show the Edit button. Regular scheduled gives can be edited as usual through the MAR Pass.
Edit PRN Administration Window
The Edit PRN Administration window will show the current saved status of the administration.
Created By and Last Updated information can be viewed on the left side of the window, under the Medication Name.
1. Created By: The original user who gave the PRN
2. Last Updated: The last user to make an update to the administration. If no updates have been made, this will show the original user.
Editing an Administration
Administrations can be edited to correct any mistakes made in the original documentation. Once saved, new details will be reflected on the MAR pass, Admin History, and MAR Report.
1. Click the ‘Administered’ button to edit the existing administration details
2. Enter new details in the fields provided:
a. Date of administration
b. Time of administration
c. Amount given
d. Amount wasted
e. Reason for administration
3. Once the new details are entered and saved, the signature on the administration will be updated to reflect the user who made the changes
4. All edits made will be logged by the system (see below for more details)
Cancelling an Administration
An administration can be cancelled to indicate that the medication in question was never actually given to the resident. When an administration is cancelled, the status of the admin is set to ‘Not Administered’. Its details can still be referenced in the Admin History and MAR Report.
1. Click the ‘Cancel Administration’ button to cancel the administration.
2. Enter details in the fields provided
a. Date and Time cannot be edited
b. Wasted Amount
c. Note must be entered to cancel an administration
3. Once the new details are entered and saved, the administration will be Cancelled
a. Cancelled administrations are still visible in the Admin History
4. All edits made will be logged by the system (see below for details)
Follow-Ups, Notes, Body Map and Bio Tests
When an administration is cancelled, information collected with the original administration may be removed or changed.
When an administration is cancelled, any follow-ups that were scheduled or completed as a result of the administration will be removed.
When an administration is edited, the user can create a new follow-up to replace the original if the date of administration is changed. Otherwise, the originally scheduled follow-up will remain.
When an administration is cancelled, the e-Note generated for that administration will be struck.
When an administration is edited, the original e-Note generated for the administration will be struck, and will be replaced by a new e-Note that reflects the updated details.
When an administration is cancelled, the dot on the body map image will be removed, but the cancelled admin will still show that a location was recorded at the time.
When an administration is edited, the original body map location will remain.
When an administration is cancelled or edited, any completed Bio Tests will remain.
Inventory (UK Only)
When an administration is cancelled
· the originally administered amount will be returned to 0
· Any wasted amount input at the time of cancellation will override the original amount (if applicable)
When an administration is edited
· The Administered amount will be updated to reflect the new amount (if applicable)
Reporting, Dashboard and Preview
When an administration has been cancelled, its record will be removed from the following reports:
· Medication Administration Record (Individual)
· PRN Administration History
· Signed Orders By Provider
When an administration has been cancelled, the following Dashboard components will be affected:
· PRNs Administered KPI (Dashboard > Enterprise Business Intelligence > Medication Intelligence)
o The cancelled admin will be subtracted from the PRNs Administered KPI count
· Overdue PRN Follow-Ups KPI (Dashboard > Enterprise Business Intelligence > Medication Intelligence > Overdue PRN Follow-Ups)
o Associated follow-ups that are removed as a result of a cancelled administration will be subtracted from the Overdue PRN Follow-Ups KPI count
· Wasted Meds KPI (Dashboard > Enterprise Business Intelligence > Medication Intelligence > Wasted Meds)
o A wasted amount entered at the time of cancellation will be reflected in the Wasted Meds KPI count
· Medication Follow-Up (Dashboard > Medication Follow-Up)
o Associated follow-ups that are removed as a result of a cancelled administration will be removed from the Medication Follow-Up widget
· Medications Not Administered (Dashboard > Medications Not Administered)
o PRN administrations that have been cancelled will not appear in the Medications Not Administered widget
Cancelled administrations will show on the Preview Schedule (Manage Order) as ‘C’
Details relating to the editing or cancellation of a PRN administration will be captured under the EditAdminEntry audit under MAR > Administration > Audit